• Daisuke HATAYAMA's avatar
    elf coredump: add extended numbering support · 8d9032bb
    Daisuke HATAYAMA authored
    The current ELF dumper implementation can produce broken corefiles if
    program headers exceed 65535.  This number is determined by the number of
    vmas which the process have.  In particular, some extreme programs may use
    more than 65535 vmas.  (If you google max_map_count, you can find some
    users facing this problem.) This kind of program never be able to generate
    correct coredumps.
    
    This patch implements ``extended numbering'' that uses sh_info field of
    the first section header instead of e_phnum field in order to represent
    upto 4294967295 vmas.
    
    This is supported by
    AMD64-ABI(http://www.x86-64.org/documentation.html) and
    Solaris(http://docs.sun.com/app/docs/doc/817-1984/).
    Of course, we are preparing patches for gdb and binutils.
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarDaisuke HATAYAMA <d.hatayama@jp.fujitsu.com>
    Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
    Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
    Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@snapgear.com>
    Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
    Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
    Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
    Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
    Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    8d9032bb
elfcore.c 459 Bytes